Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
i need to know if you like and what i can do better
Photo Location: rodmen dam 
Posted By: dragcarlady, 03-13-2012, 07:18 PM

i am new to all the stuff on my kr i like it i just need help with all the # things.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 

Views: 1,146
03-13-2012, 07:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Just a few quick tips. Shoot in RAW and you can adjust the white balance and exposure to tweak shots a bit. I shoot RAW+ which gives me the JPEG and the RAW file. It's convenient for me. If I like the JPEG no worries and if I don't I have the RAW to fiddle with. That second shot looks like handshake to me. You'll need to practice keeping steady. The Anti-shake system can only do so much. The third shot the horizon is just off enough to make it look weird. It's not always easy but try to keep your horizon straight. It's nothing you can't fix if you really like the shot, but take the shot right in the first place and you save some post processing effort. Eventually you're going to move beyond using the scene modes of the camera, but they are fine for now.

Read this site Cambridge in Colour - Photography Tutorials & Learning Community

Edit: And buy a hood for your lens to increase the contrast of your shots. The K-r kit lens doesn't come with a hood, but you can get one on eBay for cheap.

Last edited by kenafein; 03-13-2012 at 08:07 PM.
03-13-2012, 07:54 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First shot could have been helped by using a polarizer to cut down the reflection on the water. Second shot focused on the water behind the heron.
03-13-2012, 08:03 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi