Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Travelog: my trip to Turkey [not 56k or phone friendly]
Lens: 18-55 kit lens Camera: Pentax K-x Photo Location: Turkey 
Posted By: hadi, 06-12-2012, 08:47 PM

i'm no professional, nor an amazing photographer. would like to be better. if you find any pic odd or think i can do better or improve, then please let me know.

so i just came back from a 3 week trip to Saudi and Turkey. it'll take me some time to upload over 3000 pictures and 40 videos onto the computer (obviously i wont upload em all here...). and it will take me longer still to type up my thoughts on them...but bare with me. i'll also do a thread for saudi soon

and for future purposes, anyone who travels ANYWHERE, please report back. we have a compulsory 'pics for new guitar day', or 'cat day' or 'car day' etc...so why not travel? report back...

anyways, just doing this quick:

Whirling Dervish:

for the longest time i wondered what part of the world has people doing this? bollywood movies and a few other random videos often depict 'muslims' as people wearing white and just revolving constantly. well, turkey answered that question for me.

Whirling Dervish, a practice that derived from sufi islam that was heavily influenced by Rumi and his work.

they first start off by wearing long black robes that represent their worldly belongings, and their state when they are buried.

they remove their black robes to reveal their white attire. the white represents their state in heaven, and also represents purity.

as they start spinning, they raise both their arms, with the right facing the heavens and the left palm facing the ground.

from here, two different stories are told. story one) they spin, while gathering all cosmic and worldly energy with their right hand, and redistribute it to mother earth from their left hand.