Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
first macros
Lens: Sigma 50mm EX DG Macro Camera: K10D Aperture: F2.8 
Posted By: deaning, 08-08-2012, 05:47 PM

Just got my new macro lens, total newbie to this but inspired by the stunning shots on this forum. Locked it to f2.8 as depth of field this low is pretty foreign and want to get an idea of what this lens will do after reading some very glowing reviews. These are not great or even good pics and are hh straight out of the camera with only downsizing for posting, ANY criticism welcome, I am here to learn and any comments apart from throw you camera away are welcome!

1&2 shot at ISO 100, 3&4 ISO 400

Obviously this Banksia above would benefit with more DOF but decided to stay at 2.8 for consistency.

Views: 522
08-08-2012, 05:55 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I like taking macros and trying to get natural looking dof.Check out my latest thread about using flash with a macro lens.It may add another arrow in your quiver.--charliezap
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/195074-macro-just-100mm-...ound-home.html
08-08-2012, 05:57 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
Just went there Charlie after I posted this, I have a lot of work to do!
08-08-2012, 06:16 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I think these are done very well, I especially like #3, I would try some at f/8 and above for better results, but I can see why you want to try out the f/2.8

08-08-2012, 06:24 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Bob Harris Quote
I think these are done very well, I especially like #3, I would try some at f/8 and above for better results, but I can see why you want to try out the f/2.8