Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread

Speedfoos' "Gallery" Thread
Posted By: speedfoos, 10-05-2012, 09:04 PM

Right, so I'm going to start posting all of my shots in here. If you run through the thread and see something I'm doing wrong or something I'm doing well, please let me know. Even if it's something like "You need to focus better". I'm an amateur, plain and simple. I switched from taking pictures to photographs a little over a year ago and have never taken a glass, read a book or had any other formal training in photography. I've read a couple articles (from a google search) about ISO, Aperture and shutter speed.

My rig is pretty basic. I shoot using an old Pentax istDL and primarily keep an old Sears MC 50mm/1.7mm on its nose. Occasionally I'll throw the kit 18-55mm or a Sigma 12-20mm on it, but the manual 50mm is my go to lens for what I like to shoot. I do want an AF 50mm, but life always gets in the way and I usually find some other project I want to spend that money on.

I feel that I have a good eye for composition, a rudimentary understanding of how to capture light and Adobe Lightroom goes the rest of the way to making me a halfway decent photographer. I know that my mind sees when I snap a shot and its usually not what comes off the frame. LR helps me get it close to what my mind saw when I looked at the subject.

Regardless, I'm going to catch this thread up with a bunch of shots I've already done and I'll keep updating all of my shots in here.

Hope you enjoy where I travel to and what my mind sees when I push that button.
Views: 5,112
10-05-2012, 09:41 PM   #46

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
So I'm on my way back to Afghanistan and am stuck in Atlanta for the night. They put us up in the Sheraton Gateway hotel and with nothing to do, I grabbed my camera and walked around. The old Atlanta Convention Center adjoins the Sheraton and was shut down several years ago. Great opportunity for me!