Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Photos
Posted By: druitt, 02-15-2008, 10:37 PM

Hey all, I'm relatively new to this game and would like some advice / constructive criticism on these photos I took of my dog last weekend. I have a k100d and was using an fa 50mm 1.4. The last shot was taken on 1.4 and seems to have vertical lines in the top centre. Wondering what causes that?

Cheers, Druitt

Attached Images

Views: 2,137
02-15-2008, 10:54 PM   #2

Are you sure it's not something in the background? Btw, I like the last shot best.
02-15-2008, 11:06 PM   #3
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First welcome to the gang. OK well you asked for my 2 cents, so here goes.

1) The first shot is very good. But seems to be a little soft. Did you crop it much? Are you using spot focus or multi point? The exposure is good but the shot suffers from some back light problems. It's tough with an animal but if you can always consider the light first and foremost. The light is behind the subject and you'll get a slightly silhouetted image. I bet if he was turned around, this would have been a winner. Use spot focusing as much as possible, particularly with a portrait style shot. It is critical to get both eyes in sharp focus. That means focus on a point of one eye and use enough DOF to get the other sharply captured.

2) I like the fast moving capture and that's tough for anyone. Sharp and clear. The following is of course under ideal situations because many factors are hard or impossible to control. It would have been nice to capture the ball in the shot if you could. Second the above advice for camera shooting angle to get the best lit subject applies again. He's a bit too dark. Try and watch your backgrounds. Tougher with action shots but still worth trying to work on. This background has a bit too much busy stuff with the blown out sunlight.