Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Critters
Lens: Pentax F 70 - 210 f/4, Tamron 90 f/2.8 macro Camera: K-5 Photo Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario 
Posted By: tessfully, 12-28-2012, 06:23 PM

I hope everyone is having a wonderful time this holiday season! We have been down at my son's place in Niagara Falls, returning home last night to a massive amount of snow. I have so many photos to share, many steeped in mistakes as I have little experience shooting indoors. I thought I'd post them in a breakdown of themes, (Critters, Birds, Butterflies and Snow). I know they are not the greatest, but I learned a lot and I look forward to trying again this coming spring.

Thanks for having a look.

Tortoise --- he was running laps in his pen --- I am not kidding --- and it was pretty dark with heat lamps hanging low.

Pentax F 70 - 210 ISO 1600 f/5.6 1/800 (I bought a Pentax SF1 with this lens for $30.00 off kijiji -- I love it!)

Bat ---- These guys were just incredible and totally in the dark. Once my eyes adjusted I tried many different settings to get a shot. This is the only one that turned out well enough to keep.

Tamron 90 ISO 12800 f/3.2 1/25

Bearded Dragon --- low light with a heat lamp --- I have lots of cool shots of this handsome fellow!

Pentax F 70 - 210, ISO 1600, f/5.6 1/2000

Giant Cockroaches --- shot in the dark

Tamron 90 ISO 3200 f/2.8 1/30

Last edited by tessfully; 12-28-2012 at 07:18 PM.
Views: 892
12-28-2012, 07:20 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The last one is a horror image for a New Yorker...
12-28-2012, 08:13 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Great job on the bat and the heat lamp throws a different type of light out, nicely done for sure.
12-29-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Nice series. The lighting on the turtle is superb and the bad has something on his mind.

12-30-2012, 08:33 AM   #5
Veteran Member