Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
sango cem.
Lens: pentax DAL 18-55 Camera: k-x Photo Location: TN, USA ISO: 1600 Shutter Speed: 1/3000s Aperture: F4.5 
Posted By: skidmarkroyalty, 02-22-2013, 11:36 PM

this was the first time using manual mode on my kx, i only went out for a trial and error type thing, wanted to see what the different setting did. i know the definitions for iso, aperture, and shutter speed, but i am still trying to get a feel for how they relate to one another. so basically i was just taking the same picture on different setting. this is the one i liked the best. and i definitely found it more appealing in B&W. input welcome. i am a complete novice.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 

Views: 479
02-23-2013, 12:14 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I really like the composition. It's uncomfortable, a feeling backed up by the skew-wiff headstones. Edgy and yep black and white is great.

I know this isn't the critique section but you did ask for input. It's overexposed and soft overall. The softness is a bit of a mystery to me given your shutter speed and focal length. Maybe something to do with your in-camera JPG settings or RAW processing? A casualty of attempt to recover an overexposed image? (Lack of contrast also points at this.)

Good on you for experimenting with the settings. Everyone has their different ways of exploring things but if you're the type of person that likes to break things up like I am, try three experiments to understand aperture, ISO and exposure time