Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Cosina 100mm macro: images and mini-review
Posted By: rparmar, 03-23-2008, 07:55 PM

So, after buying a Vivitar (actually Cosina) 100mm macro from Youngster here on the forum I promised I would post some pictures. While I'm at it I'll give a mini-review of the lens.

This is my first time doing any serious work with a manual focus lens since film days 20 years ago. I found it rather difficult, especially as the small depth of field made focusing critical. This was true whether used as a macro or a telephoto. With my eyes I think I need the better viewfinder of the K10D/K20D and maybe an improved focus screen as well.

My first batch were done indoors with a tripod, throwing whatever I could under the macro scope. Using the built-in flash rendered too flat an image so I stuck with available light and ISO 200. Though I tried the 1:1 matched adapter, it seemed to diminish the quality slightly (maybe just my mind?) and didn't seem needed for what I was magnifying. I set the aperture for what I was trying to convey and the shutter took care of itself based on the varying sunlight.

Garlic at f/5.6 1/60s

Chili at f/13 1/6s

Seeds at f/11 1/3s

Dried flower at f/3.5 1/45s

I am happy enough with these but somehow get the impression that even at its sharpest the lens is a tad soft. Or maybe I am asking for too much. These photos are the best of a rather large bunch. Maybe someone here can tell me how they rate compared with what other lenses might do.