Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
hong kong hustle
Posted By: zer0sum, 04-06-2008, 06:30 AM

Hey,

Just wanted to post a couple of pics up as they are the first photos I have taken that show a little potential. I am just learning and have just bought a k10d and tamron 18-250mm for travelling around the world. First DSLR, no PP at all and straight jpg from the camera.

Any advice welcomed of course....Can't wait to improve

k10d, tamron 18-250, 48mm focal length, Av mode, F8, 1/4 sec, iso 140.

k10d, tamron 18-250, 78mm focal length, Av mode, F5.6, 1/4 sec, iso 800, +0.5 EV.

Views: 3,574
04-06-2008, 06:37 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum. These are both very nice shots. You may want to level the first one a bit. I'm sure you will love your new camera and lens. Hope to see more from you here.
04-06-2008, 06:40 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Nice series. #1 is a nice street shot , the neon lights ? and motion blur work well. I love the Bruce Lee statue (least I think it is Bruce Lee?). Travel the world ? Man I am sooooooooooo Jelous .
04-06-2008, 08:21 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I can't wait to learn as much as you have, nice shots:-).

04-06-2008, 10:50 AM   #5
Veteran Member

I am by no means a PP expert, but I did a little editing in the Gimp with #1. All I did was add some saturation, contrast using curves, and some USM. I also rotated to level it. The whole PP thing is still new to me and I still haven't gotten the hang of just yet.....sometimes I overdo it and sometimes I don't do enough.

BTW, both of those are really good shots.
04-06-2008, 11:49 AM   #6
Veteran Member

great to see some HK representation!
i like what maxwell's done to your photo, but overall a very interesting shot!