Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
First photos taken with my new Pentax!
Lens: Pentax DA 50-200 Camera: Pentax K5 IIs Photo Location: Chittenango NY 
Posted By: pdvair, 09-13-2014, 01:04 PM

Hi everyone,
This is my first post here, and I thought I'd start by sharing a couple of the first photos taken with my new Pentax.

Some leaves in the backyard (F5.6 1/200sec ISO 100)

My mother's horse Bobby. (F7.1 1/400sec ISO 250)

I am Loving this K-5 IIs. Super glad I bit the bullet and picked one up!

Thinking of getting a budget telephoto lens to try and capture some wildlife this winter. Can anyone recommend anything for $500 or less?
Views: 1,032
09-13-2014, 02:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Congratz on the new camera!

Those picture are a bit soft. perhaps the shutter speed is a bit on the low end for leaves in the wind or a horse moving its head eating. or perhaps it just the lens (I have no experience with it)

If you can find one, the tokina 400 5.6 AT-X AF is a great lens at around $330-450
09-13-2014, 02:36 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Nice call on the K-5IIs, it remains one of the best Pentax Dslr offerings to date. Enjoy!
09-13-2014, 03:17 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Venom3300 Quote
Congratz on the new camera!

Those picture are a bit soft. perhaps the shutter speed is a bit on the low end for leaves in the wind or a horse moving its head eating. or perhaps it just the lens (I have no experience with it)

If you can find one, the tokina 400 5.6 AT-X AF is a great lens at around $330-450
Yeah, I've noticed that too. I shot the one of the horse at 150thsec, and the one of the leaves at 200thsec. I think it might be that I should have maybe used a smaller aperture?

09-13-2014, 03:18 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Stavri Quote
Nice call on the K-5IIs, it remains one of the best Pentax Dslr offerings to date. Enjoy!