Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
The Columbia Canal_4 pics
Posted By: slowpez, 05-16-2008, 09:09 AM

These were taken at our local canal. The building is EdVenture - a museum for kids. I really liked the colors and the reflections in the water. Please tell me which (if any) you like and what I could have done to improve them.
Again, thanks in advance for all critiques and criticism. Susan

128 mmF/22 @ 1/160

128 mm F/22 @ 1/250 sec

80 mm F/22 @ 1/80 sec

55 mm F/18 @ 1/100 sec

Views: 983
05-16-2008, 12:00 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Hi Susan, I like the first and third pictures best.
On the first one I would do a tight crop on the building (kind of like a portrait).
On the third I would crop a little off the top (to get rid of those bare branches) and a little off the bottom (to balance the reflection), then try to brighten it a bit.
I'm just a novice myself though and we all see things differently.
Gary
05-16-2008, 08:07 PM   #3
Veteran Member

i like the third one the best, but too bad the colours aren't as vibrant as the last photo
05-17-2008, 09:26 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
Thanks Gary, will try your suggestions on the pictures. Any suggestions on how to retain the vibrancy of the colors. My recollection is usually pretty poor but the colors seem fairly accurate. It was a pretty cloudy day with no sun to speak of.
Thanks for your help, Susan

05-17-2008, 06:22 PM   #5
Damn Brit

Sue,
What application are you using for PP, you should have an option to enhance the colors?
Gary
05-18-2008, 07:03 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Damn Brit Quote
Sue,
What application are you using for PP, you should have an option to enhance the colors?
Gary