Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
F 35-70 Macro Mode focus distance
Posted By: shhh, 10-27-2014, 02:11 AM

Hi,

As a newbie, I was hoping someone might be able to help.

I bought a used F35-70, in Macro mode I have put my K30 into AV mode and the lens is in the A position, with the ring set into the maro zone pushed firmly past the 70mm point.

I'm finding that if I'm more than 5ft from what I'm shooting that the camera will not fire the shutter in AF mode.
Does the Macro setting on the lens have a max distance as well as a min distance?

Iso Auto I have set to 100-3200, it's reasonably bright, and it doesn't seem to matter what aperture I'm using.

Thanks for your help.
Views: 1,326
10-27-2014, 03:02 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have to say yes, macro setting have max and min distance, and macro mode on F 35-70, and i recommended you to use at least f8 to shot at macro mode for sharpness and if you have flash that will help to get more detail

SMC Pentax-F 35-70mm F3.5-4.5 Reviews - F Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
10-27-2014, 03:57 AM   #3
Veteran Member

It can't focus, so won't release the shutter.
In macro mode it won't focus to infinity! so you have to switch it back to normal mode to shoot normal photos.
10-27-2014, 04:00 AM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
The Little Gem

Hello shhh, welcome to the Forum!
Yes, the F35-70 has a maximum focusing distance (I tried it on a K-5 and it looks to be about 18-20 inches from the front element to the subject) when in 'Macro' mode with the zoom ring pushed past 70mm, just as you've described.
This is a trade-off for allowing a normal zoom to focus closer in macro mode, you can only shoot 'close ups'. If you take it out of 'AF' it still won't focus to infinity, even manually. Perfectly normal.