Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Pro / Prom Photography
Posted By: Igilligan, 05-17-2008, 09:43 PM

Ok I have already started a very controversial thread today....https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/27725-greatest-work-hall...tml#post245599

So why not one more?
And I am not sure where to post this, but since the only reason I am posting is to show the snapshot of the photographer maybe this is the right place...

I am an event manager/tech director and we are in the middle of prom season. And the proms we have in the building, have between 400-700 young adults. Each prom hires their own local photography company to come in and shoot the prom pics. Some are better than others, but the days of pre-shooting the kids are just about gone. So now they show up and have to wait sometimes 30-45 minutes in a line waiting to get their prom shots done. If they do group shots with their friends then that is another line, this in a 4 or 5 hr prom. My guess is the kids pay between $50-150 depending on the packages they choose... then if they do groups those are charged extra....

It is usually 2 to 3 prop/sets, with one converting to groups later. And usually one photograper is managing the event, with helper photogs at each station, and usually 2 workers handle the orders and money. There is also some extra cash to be made with polaroid keychain shots.

You can do the math... 500 kids $100ish each... + couples / group shots bla bla.... you get the idea

So in 4 to 5 hrs that seems like some decent paydays. And the kids have to pay on the spot... Does this sound like a good business? Any thoughts?

Here is a shot from one of the proms of a veteran photographer...

It is a very different look than me on my belly, sneaking up on a turtle the other day... haha
Views: 1,531
05-17-2008, 10:26 PM   #2
Forum Member

heck yeah it does! But who wants to deal with high schoolers
05-17-2008, 10:34 PM   #3
Damn Brit