Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
An Afternoon in "Bimmer Land"
Camera: Panasonic LX-5 Photo Location: NRG Park, Houston, TX 
Posted By: Sailor, 11-12-2014, 09:44 AM

On Sunday, my family, a friend and I participated in an autocross sponsored by BMW at NRG Park in Houston. There were various activities available, including the opportunity to drive some heavy-duty BMWs on the street and displays of some of BMW's latest models. Here are some shots of the company's new hybrid GT, the i8.

My performance at the autocross in a BMW 535i was abysmal, an abrupt and unwelcome revelation that I'm an inept and talentless driver . Fortunately, Mother Nature - through the miracle of neurochemistry - provides us with the mechanism of Rationalization, a process that allows us to assign bitter reality to the periphery and thus to maintain at least a modicum of self esteem. My rationalization is simply that I'm accustomed to driving a 2900-lb, mid-engine Porsche roadster and was unable to transition to a 2-ton, front-engine sedan. This, of course, is utter crap, but I'll keep repeating it to myself and perhaps I'll come to believe it. If not, I'm going to chuck my cars and do something different - like buy a sailboat.

Here's a pic of my wife Connie struggling to exit the i8; my daughter, Abbie (at the extreme right edge of the frame) is glancing backwards worried about the fate of her mother:

My smiling son-in-law, in the white cap, celebrating Connie's successful extraction from the car's cockpit:

A couple of photos of a strikingly suave and debonair gentleman examining the i8:

Abbie looks right at home in the i8:

Last edited by Sailor; 11-12-2014 at 04:32 PM. Reason: My syntax is as bad as my driving.
Views: 1,254
11-12-2014, 09:50 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice shots of the i8. Too bad you couldn't get to drive it!
11-12-2014, 10:27 AM   #3
Pentaxian