Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Question for the geologists?
Lens: smc PENTAX-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR Camera: K-7 Photo Location: Wreck Beach Victoria ISO: 100 
Posted By: Bruce Clark, 01-08-2015, 04:10 PM

I am no expert on timber or geology.

While at Wreck beach where my recent anchor shots were taken, I came across this oddity. Odd because it looks to me to be a planed cedar plank firmly embedded in solid rock.Is this plank off one of the may shipwrecks in the area dating back to the 1870's? If so how did it come to be enclosed in solid rock? Could this rock be a form of recently formed mud stone? Note the embedded sea shell.

The timber in the immediate area of the cliff tops is low windblown scrub, certainly not capable of producing a piece of timber this size. Further inland there are substantial hardwood Eucalypt forests. The grain on this does not resemble Eucalypt to me.

Views: 921
01-08-2015, 04:35 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My guess is a sedimentary rock randomly deposited. Other possibility is of course driftwood. Some igneous rocks also display striations. Our State Rock in Minnesota is the agate, which often displays highly colored lamina. Agates I think are igneous. Maybe a canoe voyeaguer from Grand Marais had the rock as a talisman and drowned in the shore break?

If you kept the rock, try polishing the exposed surface. Might expose its origin.

Nice shot.
01-08-2015, 04:36 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by First Poster Quote
While at Wreck beach where my recent anchor shots were taken, I came across this oddity.
Sorry, I thought you were referring to Wreck Beach, Vancouver.
QuoteOriginally posted by First Poster Quote
Could this rock be a form of recently formed mud stone?