Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
Bumblebee
Posted By: csa, 09-03-2015, 09:35 AM

It was very overcast, so not good lighting, and was handheld. This is with the Sigma 105 Macro. (I'm just learning macro, so be gentle! )

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K10D  Photo 

Views: 1,985
09-03-2015, 09:39 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Cool! Bumbles are a fun subject because you can get right up on them. Well, some of the males can get pretty frisky when it's warm...

I think this is a male Bombus ternarius based on color and geography. We don't have them here, but have a few others with brown belts or patches.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bombus_ternarius
09-03-2015, 10:05 AM   #3
csa
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
Terry, thanks for that link! That definitely does look like what I have here. They love the Russian Sage, which is where I found this little one.
09-03-2015, 12:34 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Yeah, sage will attract them. Hyssop is also hugely popular. Right now you'll see mostly males gathering enough to stay alive long enough for the queens to emerge. I've seen a few queens out looking for love, so keep your eyes open. The queens are BIG. Once they've mated they'll continue to fatten up for a while then go find somewhere to winter over.

Males have to camp out, they're not allowed back in the nests. You'll see them sleeping under leaves and under or on flowers.

09-03-2015, 12:40 PM   #5
csa
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
Terry, that's really interesting! I'll definitely be on the lookout for queens!
09-03-2015, 12:58 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter