Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
1 Like  #1
NASCAR Single Car Shots
Lens: SMC Pentax-FA 80-320mm F4.5-5.6 Camera: Pentax K-50 Photo Location: Daytona Beach, FL 
Posted By: fullmental, 02-16-2016, 02:11 AM

I was at the Daytona International Speedway this past Saturday and decided to take single car shots of all 44 cars during the morning Sprint Cup practice. I took these mostly as an exercise in consistency, and I took the opportunity afterwards to learn a bit about how to use Lightroom. I'd appreciate it if anyone could provide suggestions on how to improve consistency or post-production, I'm fairly new to this! I've got more from the actual races later that day which I want to sift through and feature, but I'll have to save those for another thread.

Shots were done with a Pentax K-50 and SMC Pentax-FA 80-320mm 45.-5.6 lens in TaV mode. I jumped around a bit, but mostly stayed with a 1/400 shutter speed and f11 or f13 aperture.

I found the lens to be adequate, but the autofocus on that particular lens is severely lacking (almost half of the rejected shots I took were out of focus, I had to rely on several repeated shots to get a good result). The only shot posted here that I was completely disappointed in was for the #78 car. Unfortunately when I got to the track I had my 18-135mm lens on the camera (it's the only one that fits on the camera in the travel bag I have). I quickly took that shot when I got to my seat then changed lenses to something with more reach, but that car never returned to the track afterward. The resulting less-than-ideal shot is included for completion, but little else.

Clicking the images will bring up 100% crops, names will bring up the Flickr page for the photo. Feel free to comment and/or critique, please:

Jamie McMurray
Brad Keselowski
Austin Dillon
Kevin Harvick
Kasey Khane
Trevor Bayne
Regan Smith
Danica Patrick
Denny Hamlin
Casey Mears
Brian Vickers
Clint Bowyer