Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
Grand Canyon
Lens: DA 18-55mm AL WR Camera: K-30 Photo Location: Grand Canyon National Park ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/500s Aperture: F8 
Posted By: Killieman, 03-25-2016, 12:46 PM

Took this shot during a visit to the Grand Canyon last year. Any feedback or advice (particularly on post-processing) would be appreciated as I'm still pretty new to this.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-30  Photo 

Views: 1,078
03-25-2016, 01:04 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Amazing landscape and a very nice shot!
03-25-2016, 01:17 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It looks good for a midday shot but the best are near sunrise and sunset.
03-25-2016, 03:04 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Agree with Steve. The time of day certainly makes a difference but sometimes we just don't have a chance to be there at sunrise or sunset.

03-25-2016, 03:08 PM   #5
Veteran Member

The grand canyon can still produce decent photos in midday, if composition and lighting transitions are utilized properly.

I think the biggest issue that jumps out at me about this photo is the number of partial elements included in the framing. They are very disconcerting. The trees, right and left and the partial aloe plant just say hurried snapshot.

The angle of the shot is also up, where I prefer to shoot the canyon from much closer to the rim and slightly downward, allowing any foreground elements to create a better sense of depth. Here the sky is rather boring and the angle of the image creates a very flat plane, not really imparting any scale. Add to that a rather empty (boring) foreground with harsh converging angles, the composition is a little lacking.