Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
View from Village Pizza - Widbey Island Washington
Lens: DA 20-40 ltd Camera: K5ii Photo Location: Widbey Island, WA ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/30s Aperture: F19 
Posted By: troika, 04-17-2016, 09:02 AM

Pretty good pizza too.

Views: 610
04-18-2016, 10:25 AM   #2

This scenery respects the rule of thirds, so it look very good. Congratulations!
04-18-2016, 04:23 PM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by troika Quote
Pretty good pizza too.
Hello May I ask a question? I am still new to photography. I noticed you shot this with f19, is there an effect you were after in this situation? I think it is a great shot.
Thanks in advance for your help
04-18-2016, 11:20 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Sure, it was a couple of factors.*

First was I wanted as much of the picture in focus as possible. The water and the mountains, so I wanted the deepest possible depth of field. Second, it was sunny, so I needed to/had an opportunity to go with a smaller aperture. Third is that it is a new-to-me lens and I wanted to see how it performed stopped down that far. I'm reasonably sure that i was shooting in Tav mode.

The focal length was 40mm and the shutter speed was 1/30, so I was relying on shake resistance a bit. It wouldn't have hurt to have my shutter speed a bit faster, but it wouldn't have affected the result. My guess is that I stopped down as far as I could go with the aperture before the ISO changed to 200.

So, lowest possible ISO for clarity. Shutter speed adequate for the focal length and aperture as stopped down as possible for maximum depth of field.

*I don't actually know what I'm doing. But, I'm learning too.

04-19-2016, 08:41 AM   #5
Pentaxian