Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Ssusuna
Posted By: mel, 07-17-2008, 07:52 PM

In my real job life I am a librarian in a community public library. All summer long we have special programs and performances availlable free of charge to the public (they have to get tickets as space is limited but it's free). Today we had a Ugandan singer/storyteller named Daniel Ssusuna. This guy was an incredibly charismatic performer with an amazing voice.

Since I always have my camera with me, a new part of my job is to shoot these events for a summer highlights display we'll do at the end of summer. Such a bummer to have to watch a fabulous entertainer and shoot my camera while on the job .

Since this was kind of a big deal, the library system's graphics head came out with her Canon set up (she was shooting with lens that did 70-200 at a contant f/2.8, no flash) and her assistant who was shooting a Nikon with a pop-up flash. The Canon took the best view point, and the Nikon took one side. I took the other side. I alternated between my cheap Tamron 28-80 f/3.5-5.6 and my Quanatray 70-300 f/4-5.6. The reason being, even though I was close in, I could shoot the Tamron at 70-80mm and get f/5.6, or shoot the Quantaray at the same focal length and get f/4. I really have no idea what I'm doing.

I have a small flash, a Pentax AF220T and I have to constantly fiddle with my exposure as it does nothing automatic for me. I bounced it, and used a white index card taped to the back to help facilitate the bounce. All shots were taken at 800 ISO, in an old building with nasty yellowy painted cinder block walls, from a limited perspective (I was closed into my spot by the hoards that came to the program).