Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
bear with me please, just starting out
Lens: Tamron 70 - 300 mm macro zoom Camera: K 3 Photo Location: Topeka Zoological Garden, Topeka KS 
Posted By: aslyfox, 09-19-2016, 01:42 PM

please bear with me, I'm just starting out.

I took my K 3 and the used Tamron 70 - 300mm 1:4.5 - 5.6 LD tele-macro [1:2] to the Topeka Zoological Park in Topeka KS

I'm so new that I don't know what the "LD" or the [1:2} stands for, camera was hand held.

any how, I set it for "macro" used auto focus, physically moved slightly as needed to obtain focus and here are some of the results.

note how narrow the depth of field is.

please let me know your thoughts and advice

thanks

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 

Last edited by aslyfox; 09-21-2016 at 01:38 AM.
Views: 748
09-19-2016, 02:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
1:2 is the reproduction ratio, and LD stands for low dispersion (a marketing term for good quality glass). That's a very handy lens to start a bit of casual macro in, if you find yourself enjoying it then you could always add a Raynox on top for even more extreme closeups
09-21-2016, 01:35 AM   #3
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
narrow FOD

I know. or, rather I think I know, that when I shoot macro, you get a narrow depth of field

but these seem extreme, note how much of the photo is in focus and how quickly it fades away

for example, the wings of the bee vs. the whiter "hair" - I expected the petals but ???

1 is it operator error (most likely in my personal experience)

2 the fact that the camera was hand held

3 limitation of equipment used

any thoughts

all help and advice accepted

thanks

K 3 + Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5.6 LD Macro 1:2 (used at its macro setting)

photographed at the Topeka Zoological Park, Topeka KS
Attached Images