Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
FA 50mm f/1.4, a bit overrated?
Posted By: gawan, 08-30-2008, 03:22 PM

Just acquired my copy of this praised lens. I agree that it is one of the best lenses for the value, but I was a little disappointed though. Maybe I was expecting too much after reading the praise of its sharpness and IQ.

I have to say this is good lens but not stellar! I am still learning to like it.

I found this lens to be sharp actually only when stopped down at least to 2.0 or better 2.8. Bokeh is most of the time nice and it has decent colour rendering, but it seems to be vulnerable to CA and PF.

Here are some of decent ones I have shot so far, no PP (little cropping and some loss of quality after down sampling). What do you think? Are these technically as good as they should, or do I have a not so good copy?

Views: 2,689
08-30-2008, 03:45 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I dont see anything wrong in these photos. Colour and sharpness looks ok in the focus plane.
I dont think this lens has ever been regarded as being sharp wide open, if you look here you will see 5.6 is the sharpest aperture.Pentax SMC-FA 50mm f/1.4 - Review / Lab Test Report
08-30-2008, 04:12 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteQuote:
dont think this lens has ever been regarded as being sharp wide open, if you look here you will see 5.6 is the sharpest aperture
Would have to agree with that statement.. JIMBO
08-30-2008, 05:25 PM   #4

QuoteOriginally posted by Jimbo Quote
Would have to agree with that statement.. JIMBO

x2 I thought everyone was mistaken to on how sharp it is when I was first shooting...because I was shooting wide open. But when you stop it down and shoot at anything over f/4 or f/5.6 I found it is a pretty darn sharp lens.

08-30-2008, 05:32 PM   #5

oops posted the same thing twice
08-30-2008, 06:18 PM   #6
Veteran Member