Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Newbie here w/ some huge pics (thumbnails in thread, don't worry)
Posted By: Volvo244T, 09-08-2008, 10:42 PM

Hey all, name's Cullen, & I'm in Florence, AL USA. How's THAT for a quick & to-the-point intro? I bet you couldn't guess one of my other hobbies...

All these were taken locally with my *istDL & kit lens, all full-size images are 1280x851 or 851x1280, minor post proccessing was added using The GIMP 2.4 on Linux. (Nothing more than an unsharp mask, and possibly a gamma adjustment on one of the pics - can't remember which)

They're not perfect, as I'm still learning this thing. Constructive criticism welcome, of course. It was a gift, and while it's no K20D, it sure as heck beats running around with a little P&S like I'd been doing for the past 5 or so years. I'm itching to get a telephoto zoom. I'm eyeing the DA 18-250 and the DA 55-300. Opinions?

-C

Last edited by Volvo244T; 09-09-2008 at 12:35 PM. Reason: added signature
Views: 1,668
09-09-2008, 01:09 AM   #2

Photos: Albums
Very nice Cullen!

You're definitely developing a good eye! I know you asked for some CC; what I'm going to suggest isn't likely to be what you had in mind but here it is: You don't need CC right now!!!

Like I said, you are developing a really nice style. If you ask for CC on here, you'll get 20 different answers that will lead .... somewhere. Where that leads is likely not to be where your style develops naturally. Photography is an artistic endeavour. Art is an act of unique creation. The images you have created are uniquely yours.

If I said to you right now, "Do this this and this ... and your images would be better...." Too much of me would bleed into your creation.