Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 10 Likes Search this Thread
6 Likes  #1
Exit.... Stage LEFT!
Lens: Super Takumar 50mm f:1.4 Camera: Spotmatic Photo Location: South China Sea 
Posted By: Dewman, 05-26-2018, 09:29 AM

This was taken sometime in 1966 while I was a US Navy photographer stationed aboard the USS Ticonderoga CVA-14 and we were prowling the seas off the coast of North Vietnam.

The F-8 Crusader had made his approach but for some reason, got all out of sorts. I took this shot the very second that we all realized he was headed in our direction.... but it all happened in literally the blink of an eye! Bear in mind, the stall speed of the F-8 was in excess of 100 mph, so things happen fast! In that "blink," the pilot yanked the controls to the left and luckily, he snagged the cable and made a safe, albeit somewhat shaky, unorthodox landing. But, like they say, any landing you can walk away from is a good one!

You can tell by the body stance of the fireman that he was looking for somewhere to go! The island was directly to the left of where the photo was taken and all three of us managed to squeeze through the door and out of harms way.

When they say that the flight deck of an aircraft carrier is the most dangerous job in the world.... believe them! I'm a witness! .

Attached Images

Last edited by Dewman; 05-26-2018 at 09:37 AM.
Views: 895
05-26-2018, 10:27 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Excellent capture Dewman...great image...bet you can still remember the sounds and smells of those days.
05-26-2018, 03:35 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Terrific photograph DEW. This one I am sure you will keep forever. Thanks a million.

TT
05-26-2018, 05:49 PM   #4
Veteran Member

superb photo-journalism! in the moment action, fraction of a second unnerving photograph... I can only imagine the tension, the exhilaration, the gut churning, mind bogling experience of