Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
2 Likes  #1
Helios 40 at the park
Lens: Helios 40 (85mm f/1.5) Camera: a7r Photo Location: Tempe 
Posted By: scratchpaddy, 07-13-2019, 03:38 PM

I brought my Helios 40 back to the dog park this morning. What a horrible lens! It weighs two pounds. The focus ring is tiny, stiff, and too far back. It has the clumsy preset aperture system that was popular mid-century. It flares like crazy. Its rendering changes completely from one part of the frame to another.

However...it's still one of my favorite lenses. Nothing else renders like it. Its terrible ergonomics and unpredictable performance make it that much more rewarding once you find a scene where it works. As a professional, I would hate it, but for messing around at the dog park on the weekend, it's a lot of fun.

Since the controls are so clumsy, I just set the focus to a distance where a dog would fill enough of the frame, find a spot with good light, and wait for something to happen.

I actually didn't get any pictures of my own dog today, but I did get her near-twin.

I love German Shepherds, but I have a hard time getting pictures of them. All the ones I see at the park are completely uninterested in anyone but their owners. A game of fetch is all they want, and they don't jump in when a battle royale starts somewhere in the park. But, this one posed so well, and for once I was fast enough to catch the moment.

Views: 382
07-13-2019, 10:39 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My, My what a terrific series. This is a case where you hate the lens, but love the results. Very nice work and I bet it was a lot of fun. More than a barrel of monkeys. )

TT
07-14-2019, 12:08 AM   #3

Its a lens that you never know if your gong to vomit or run around the room with joy from the results. I say this with admiration of the lens (don't own but want to) fun photos to look at thanks for sharing!!!