Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
3 Likes  #1
Large Car 379
Lens: DA 18-55 WR Camera: K10D Photo Location: Vancouver, Washington and Portland, Oregon 
Posted By: Racer X 69, 10-26-2019, 12:50 AM

The view from the driver's seat of a Peterbilt 379.

Looking out over the long hood.

The truck I was driving.

Views: 818
10-26-2019, 02:19 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Wow! Nice perspective; I trust your co-driver took the pics from the cab! TFS>
Best.
10-26-2019, 02:44 AM   #3
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Charlie Victor Quote
Wow! Nice perspective; I trust your co-driver took the pics from the cab! TFS>
Best.
Thanks for the comment.

In the five years I drove big trucks for a living, I never had a co-driver, always driving solo. Every photo I took while driving was one handed. I always had the camera ready, prefocused or in autofocus mode (although I usually like it prefocused so the camera wouldn't try to focus on the bugs in the windshield), and usually in aperture priority mode. I would simply pick up the camera, point it out the window, and squeeze the shutter button.

I covered all of the lower 48 states and 6 Canadian provinces, over 800,000 miles, and managed to snap a lot of great photos.
10-26-2019, 06:37 AM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

The Peterbilt 379 is truly the king of the road. Very distinctive looking truck. A 379 and the IH Lone Star always catch my eye. Nice pics. Were you an owner/operator with the 379 ?

10-26-2019, 06:46 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Good stuff, my friend! Composition and PP on the third one are simply outstanding.

Jer
10-26-2019, 09:43 AM - 1 Like   #6
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by lesmore49 Quote