Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
3 Likes  #1
Hour Long Squirrel Photo Shoot
Lens: 55-300 PLM Camera: K-S2 Aperture: F6.3 
Posted By: ehrwien, 04-25-2020, 04:21 PM

I hope this is right here, it's my first time posting in this section. I have loads of photos from a recent photo session with one of our garden squirrels and find it hard to sort them out because I feel at least some of those are worth sharing, and I don't want to clutter the threads where I usually post in. So, consider yourselves warned, you're gonna see one and the same squirrel (at least I think so; maybe another one is featured as well) from a few angles and distances. I myself have been shooting those for the whole time through an open cellar window just above ground level.
I think all of those were at 300mm and wide open at f/6.3, with shutter speeds between 1/160 and 1/320 in TAv, edited to my taste in DxO PhotoLab 3 and most cropped by about 50% to correct the composition for me always using the central focus point and not reframing adequately.

Up the Tree

In the Tree

Snack in the Tree

The careful observer may have noticed that it's not the same tree as before. I'm just trying to smuggle this one in here because it wouldn't fit anywhere else.

Down the Tree

Safe?

This one is an experienced squirrel model. It gave me a few seconds to get the shot at each stage...

... and routinely went through all the poses

And... LOOK NOW!

Attentive

For the next shots it seems to have expected me to come closer, but I wouldn't fit through the window, so the next two are 100% crops (on flickr at least; don't know how the math works out for the embedded pictures here)

Juicy Snack

I don't know exactly what it had hidden in the grass last fall and gotten back to daylight that day, but it seemed to contain some kind of sugary nectar (?)

Tasty Juice