Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
6 Likes  #1
Flashback to 1969
Lens: DFA 28-105 Camera: K-1 Photo Location: Back Porch 
Posted By: Sailor, 08-06-2020, 06:12 PM

Around 15 years ago - a few years before I retired - I bought a moderately expensive die-cast model of a 1969 Mustang Mach I (in a gas station of all places) that is a near twin of the Mach I my wife and I bought new in 1969. I was a poor grad student, and she worked as an accountant at the university book store so we didn't have a lot of money, but we managed to scrape together the cash (with a bit of help from my parents) to trade my '67 Cougar for the Mach I, which we drove for a couple of years before moving on to a '71 Camaro.

I originally put the model in my office at work, where it stayed until I retired in 2009, after which it inhabited the attic over our garage until I came across it the other day when I was up there looking for something totally unrelated to the Mustang. The model is the same color, has the same wheels, and has the same tires as our car - the big (really big) difference is that the model depicts a 428 Cobra Jet, while our more pedestrian car was equipped with a 351 Windsor. The model car has deteriorated during the decade in the attic, but it still brings back memories of the late '60s.

Jer

Views: 849
08-06-2020, 07:40 PM   #2
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Sailor Quote
The model car has deteriorated during the decade in the attic, but it still brings back memories of the late '60s.
The condition suits a car that would be 51 years old Jer. Magazine ads of the day would have had a bikini clad model draped over the bonnet. ...
Can you lay your hands on a BarbieTM for a re-shoot.................................

Once again, excellent vehicle images buddy.
08-06-2020, 11:56 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Great memories, I'm sure Jer!
Thanks for sharing the shots and the story!