Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
2 Likes  #1
I had no business
Lens: Auto Sears 200mm f3.5 Camera: Pentax K-50 Photo Location: Maryland, USA ISO: 1600 Shutter Speed: 1/800s Aperture: F3.5 
Posted By: jimmypage, 04-30-2021, 03:39 PM

First of all, I am new to DLSR photography. I have shot extensively on film but could never find a digital camera I felt comfortable with until I discovered Pentax late last year. My goal is to get images that look as close as possible to film and I am not generally happy with my work to date. I don't consider most of my photos worthy of sharing on this forum because I haven't figured out how to make a digital camera do what I want it to do. This photo stuck with me though. The lens was a $35 ebay acquisition, received in the mail and mounted for the first time just minutes before this picture was taken, handheld. I have taken maybe a dozen snaps so far with this lens and I'm trying to decide what to do next with it. I think I'll be using it a lot this summer. I prefer to shoot 1600-3200, and at f3.5 I think I'll be able to work with the long focal length. I have since acquired (from a forum member) a K-3ii and I wonder if improved SR will make a difference at 200mm focal length. I am already VERY happy with the sensor's performance at 3200 ISO and may end up pushing it higher. In the right light, the CA is not only manageable but I would call it "film like." There is some green fringing, but to the extent it's even visible I find it almost tasteful. The flowers are nearly the same color as the flower pot and it was very hard to make them stand out in post processing.

Full res: IMGP0617 | Auto Sears 200mm f3.5 M42, handheld | GPT-7 | Flickr

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-50  Photo 

Last edited by jimmypage; 04-30-2021 at 04:01 PM. Reason: Got facts wrongs
Views: 287
04-30-2021, 04:57 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery