Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
what have I done wrong here?
Posted By: johngs, 01-25-2009, 03:34 PM

These are amongst the first shots I have taken with my new K200D. I used P or landscape mode as I am new to DSLR. I dialed in +03 as many people suggest.
They look pretty bad to me. Can anyone suggest what settings I should have used or changed? Thank you.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 

Views: 1,818
01-25-2009, 03:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
+03 EV compensation?

If so, that's your problem- these are overexposed quite a bit.

Put it down to maybe +01 for now, and see how the pictures comes out. You can also check the histogram right after taking a photography, and if the little chart goes off the right hand side of the graph, that means your over-exposing the shots (so much light is coming into the camera that those pixels can't record anything but white space in those locations).

That very first shot you posted looks like it was directly into the sun, which will almost always cause highlights to blow out (which is why there's a giant white space on the top right hand side of your image). The +3 EV compensation + a shot directly into the sun will = over-exposure each and every time.

Someone more intelligent than me can explain all this in far fewer words, but hopefully I've helped at least a bit.
01-25-2009, 03:41 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi

My 2 cents:

Read the manual
Use/activate the histogram
Use M, AV or TV modes and forget the rest.

I did and my pictures improved a lot
01-25-2009, 03:49 PM   #4
SMC PENTAX LENSES
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by netuser Quote
Hi

My 2 cents:

Read the manual

What netuser said.