Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Dancing On The Edge
Posted By: metroeloise, 05-17-2009, 06:03 PM

This is the type of dancing that I do. I am just learning it. It is a combination of Contact Improvisation, Jazz, Acrobatics and Gymnastics... It can get ultra fast and suddenly pause. Fun stuff.

I had my K20D with the Hanimar 135mm still stuck on f/2.8 (Will do the surgery soon... Payday is 20th ~buy tool) Also the K100DS with the Tammy 28-75mm. Both cameras were set to iso 1600.

The lighting was two white spots on stage right (one rear one middle aimed?) and then gelled spots all around. Yikes. Made for super hot on one side...

The K20D with Manual Focus is great. The K100DS AF's the Tammy just fine. Slow and slow to save.

They were moving fast. I didn't know they were going to preform. I wanted to watch. Really challenging to track or even find them in the view finder.

I worked the treatment to get the dynamics and intensity. Some in various B&W conversions and some in my first attempts at Cross Processing. How Do they work?

Thanks for viewing.
Views: 1,614
05-17-2009, 06:39 PM   #2
Damn Brit

#1 is the best IMO, it conveys the sense of movement without being too blurred.
I also like the drama of #4 and #5 but they convey a sense of passion, not dance. I would crop away some of the RH side on #4 though.

Last edited by Damn Brit; 05-18-2009 at 10:27 AM.
05-18-2009, 09:51 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Damn Brit Quote
#1 is the best IMO, it conveys the sense of movement without being too blurred.
I also like the drama of #4 and #5 but they convey a sense of passion, not dance. I would crop away some of the RH side on #4 though.
Thank you Gary. Always a welcomed insight.

Blurred. I have some on the site that is working more with the blur. Comes down to it in dance. Learning a language is what it feels like.

Passion. Very passionate dance. And Passion is a Dance.