Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
First try with waterfalls.
Posted By: IN_Varmntr, 07-11-2009, 06:07 AM

Just picked up my K20D, and I am just starting out in the DSLR world. I love long-exposure waterfall pictures so I decided to try my hand at it.

These two are post-processed in Lightroom.

RAW to JPEG, untouched.

Views: 1,692
07-11-2009, 06:23 AM   #2
Veteran Member

For a first try, I think you really did a great job capturing the motion. I am guessing you probably didn't use a ND filter (if you did my apologies), but that could allow for longer exposure times without blowing out the highlights in the water. I really like the composition of the second one - with the bend in the water as it hits the second layer of rock. The third could probably benefit from some exposure blending - having one shot exposed properly for the sky - assuming it is blue. Keep shooting!
07-11-2009, 07:20 AM   #3
Ash
Community Manager

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I also like #2.
Well exposed, long enough exposure to blend the water falling down beautifully, avoided including the sky (midday sky is just one big blown highlight).

Exposure blending, as suggested, is good if you can get a small enough aperture and low enough ISO to get the desired effect with the blue sky in the photo, but without an ND filter, this would be a tough assignment.
07-11-2009, 10:33 AM   #4
Veteran Member

They look great, better then my first try. just remember it's easier to pull up the lows then it is to pull down the highs. ND filters and Graduated ND filters would help.

John

07-11-2009, 08:13 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
As I am so new to this, I will be researching filters and get some ordered to play around with.

Thanks for the recommendations!
07-12-2009, 04:41 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Like #2, not bad for a first attempt!!
07-12-2009, 05:18 AM   #7
Pentaxian