Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
My first DSLR camera Pentax K-7
Posted By: PeterPP, 07-21-2009, 01:35 PM

Here are my first experimental shots taken with my very first new DSLR camera, Pentax K-7 and an older manual lens SMC Pentax-M 1:2 50mm. I still need to learn how to use it properly so any tips/advice would be appreciated.

Peter
Views: 2,571
07-21-2009, 02:32 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Read read read! Internet makes learning so much easier. I was like you, I jumped straight into a K10D for my first SLR.
07-22-2009, 06:35 AM   #3
Banned

Original Poster
Any comments?
07-22-2009, 09:33 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Enjoy your new camera! Some good shots...how do you like the stopped down metering? And I'm also wondering how good the exposure is using it.

07-22-2009, 10:41 AM   #5
Banned

Original Poster
This is my first time using a dSLR so all this is very new to me. It is definitely very different from using my P&S camera. I still have a lot to learn and the whole stop down metering things, focusing etc. I'm still trying to get used to. But I'm having a blast using it (my birthday gift to myself) and I'm discovering new things to try everytime I pick it up and playing with it!
07-22-2009, 01:00 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A K-7 is your first digital slr???
I guess we all have to start somewhere. A little like saying, "The first jet I flew was an F-22. Sure I had some experience with single and two engine, propeller driven monoplanes but I really wanted to jump straight in the Raptor and see where it could take me."

Just hackin' on ya. Pay no attention to my jealous mind. Nice flowers.
07-22-2009, 02:42 PM   #7
Forum Member

I think if you want to learn you are doing this exactly right - an expensive, high-end body paired with an older standard lens, manual focus and aperture.