Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Smiling daughter
Posted By: Martin_Qc, 11-15-2009, 07:28 AM

I'd like to read your comments.

The picture was taken with the sun on my front left (10 O'clock) so I had a bit of problem with exposure.

Personally, I think the subject and panorama are in good proportion.....but I'm a pure green newbie here so, I'm all ears for tips, comments and constructive advices. I'm pretty sure it's a little UNDEREXPOSED, but I had to deal with the sun near the front of the lens

BTW......my daughter had a blast taking this shot.....so did I

50mm F/6.7 1/350 sec ISO-200

Views: 2,904
11-15-2009, 07:22 PM   #2
graphicgr8s

It's a nice shot overall. I would have bracketed the shot though and "painted" your daughter in to get her exposure correct.
11-15-2009, 07:29 PM   #3
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not bad. Well exposed, but could be improved with some dodging and burning.
Your daughter is shoved a little too far to the right of the frame, but it hasn't ruined the image.
The fellow walking on the footpath behind her looks like his/her head's been chopped off.
11-15-2009, 09:22 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
she seems to be having fun, and it is a nice shot.

cheers

11-15-2009, 09:38 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Its a nice shot and I quite like the framing.

In my opinion you could have done 4 things to improve the image
1. the people on the trail are a distraction and the image would be better without them
2. the horizon is off
3. the background is a tad cluttered. A wider aperture would remove some of the distraction. F4 would be an improvement but F2.8 would be even better
4. a flash would have helped the lighting on your daughter. Even the on-board pop-up would probably have provided enough fill light to work.