Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Noob with K100D does Airshow ...
Posted By: bjsmith, 06-26-2007, 07:12 AM

Photography noob here. Have a K100D (6 weeks now) with the DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 "kit" and DA 50-200mm f/4.0-5.6 lenses, 52mm polarizing filter, etc... Used an airshow Saturday to play with various program, shutter priority and other settings (although I should have jacked up my ISO to beyond 200 at times) -- took about 600 JPEG and 400 RAW. Prior to this I largely took just JPEG (I have little free time to process much).

Anyhoo, here's my blog article to start ...
BS' Blog: What a cheap lens can give you (and not)

And the Flickr set ... which includes descriptions of what I used/learned/etc... (comments under each) from taking the shot ...
Rhode Island National Guard Airshow (2007Jun23) - a photoset on Flickr

Further comments in each photo on Flickr (as well as here) are always, greatly appreciated. I still have a long way to go before I can consider myself even an "amateur."
Views: 2,925
06-26-2007, 07:29 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Awesome shots and I'll remember to leave you some comments on flickr as well! You definitely don't shoot like a noob, someone has been practicing!
06-26-2007, 07:35 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by codiac2600 Quote
Awesome shots and I'll remember to leave you some comments on flickr as well! You definitely don't shoot like a noob, someone has been practicing!
I'm now 6 weeks into my K100D and have taken about 3,000 shots -- these were the most recent 1,000.
I was shocked how "easy" it was to keep the objects on the K100D "in-frame" at the full 200mm (306mm equivalent) focal.
At at 1/1,000 shutter, I wasn't getting blur except when some of the solos were pushing 500 knots -- 250-350 knots were captured.

I bought this K100D with the DA 50-200mm f/4.0-5.6 largely for American Football, being frustrated with Point'n Shoots.