Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
A lily from my pond.
Posted By: Fritz, 06-30-2007, 12:01 AM

Hi, this will be my first picture post. I just got my K100d a few weeks ago and I have been having a blast with it. I'm still pretty new at this, so I thought I would throw a few pictures up here. C&C are appreciated!

I'll start with this lily in my pond, shot with my Vivitar 75-205. 1/500, f11?(or maybe 16), ISO 200.

Thanks for any suggestions to help me be a better photographer!
Views: 1,674
06-30-2007, 12:25 AM   #2
and
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Thats a very good first post! The flower looks very nice and sharp!

As for suggestion, I see some great potential in this scene for a different picture, that is, you see the reflection of the flower in the pond. the pond is so dark it looks almost like the flower is sitting on a glass table. Id try to change the angle a bit and get a shot that focused on the flower itself and its reflection, leaving the green leaf out of the frame.

The picture you posted in itself I dont have a lot of suggestions, I think its good as it is, I dont think its easy to get a white flower nice and sharp like that, its easy to blow the highlights but in your picture the leafs look very good so I think u did a great job.
06-30-2007, 07:46 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I see what you are saying about the reflection. Thats what caught my eye about this picture when I got it up on the computer. But I didn't really see it when I took the picture, I was busy getting the flower focused. And making sure I didn't blow out the highlights! Your suggestions and comments, thanks!
06-30-2007, 08:46 AM   #4
Veteran Member

This is a grat first shot! Everything is sharp and no blown highlights or anything else most people forget to think about when shooting.