Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
My 1st attempt at Portraits
Camera: Pentax K-X 
Posted By: aaronius, 03-22-2010, 03:41 AM

Hi guys, this is my 1st attempt at portraits. Pic 1 and 2 are taken with the DA 70mm F2.4 and the rest taken with the FA 35mm F2.0. Hope to receive comments on what can be improved..

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

Views: 3,293
03-22-2010, 06:57 PM   #2

Original Poster
Anyone can give me some comments?
03-23-2010, 11:46 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I am not an expert but, on the first one, the background is Overblown,too distracting to the eye. Second one does not work for me with the color you have chosen. On the Rest of the three pics, except for the last one, the other two have a busy back ground.
03-23-2010, 12:01 PM   #4
Veteran Member

If you're doing portrait, try to put no distracting elements on the background, one easy way to do this is to sue very small DOF. Hence the 85/1.4 noted as a "perfect" portrait lenses. Of course a "blank" background does the job as well.

Now, if you want to make a really good portrait (and it's a rule valid for any picture) try to think of what you want to show in this photo. Here lighting is quite even, therefore nothing is highlighted and the portrait lacks of strength.

03-25-2010, 01:03 AM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks for the feedbacks guys! Will definitely takenote and try to improve on my next portraits attempt!
03-25-2010, 04:55 AM   #6
Inactive Account

I like #1 except for the foot in the backround
03-25-2010, 12:45 PM   #7
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think 1, 2 and 5 are fantastic!

3 and 4 ain't bad at all either, but out of the 5, I ranked those lower.

AND I LOVE THOSE FEET! IT GIVES AN ENTIRE DIFFERENT MOTION TO THE SHOT!

03-25-2010, 07:42 PM   #8

Original Poster
Thanks man!

QuoteOriginally posted by Oldphoto678 Quote
I like #1 except for the foot in the backround