Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Trip to Portland
Lens: 28 - 90 mm Lens Camera: Pentax K-x Photo Location: Portland - Australia 
Posted By: Praestigium, 04-06-2010, 06:51 AM

I took a number of photos when me and some friends went to Portland for a week long fishing trip back in February, some of my favourite pictures taken while there.

An attempt at some macro photography, the subject is a red kafeya that a friend was wearing while fishing. To be honest I was pleased with this image, but I'm still new to the Macro side of things, so please critique and advise!

A sign that was near one of our fishing locations, to be honest I wanted to for a grunge look with the sign, but despite trying so many different angles I couldn't get the grainy quality of the sign.

This was a real head ache, at one point while on the beach I looked around and noticed how grey everything looked, and I personally love the colour, but this image lacks any....intensity? The different shades of grey are wrong, for lack of a better expression

Another image I would have liked to improve, my one qualm with this is that I didn't take a photo with out the fishing rod.

---

I'm after advice for taking detailed landscape photos, I want to be able to take generally wide landscapes and even maybe go on to panoramas.

What lens is generally good for these type of scenarios? My current lens is a Sigma 28 - 90 mm.

PS: Most of the photos have been slightly touched up with photoshop.
Views: 2,215
04-06-2010, 09:32 AM   #2
Inactive Account

they seem ok to me,but its good to be hard on yourself,it will make you better.
im no expert, but id say a nice wideangle lens would help you for good landscape shots.
i use a sigma 10-20mm which is an awesome lens,im sure many will agree.
also a telephoto lens and tripod is a great tool for landscape.
the best time to shoot is when the sun is low in the horizon(the golden hour)