Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
First photo post
Camera: K-x Photo Location: Green Mtn, AL 
Posted By: BlueBubbleBoy, 04-10-2010, 10:04 PM

Hey guys, I'm new to the DSLR world. Here's a few photos from this morning's hike. I used the DA L 18-55 for the first two and the A 50mm 1.7 for the last. Any c&c you can offer would be appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by BlueBubbleBoy; 02-08-2011 at 11:31 AM.
Views: 3,042
04-10-2010, 10:28 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Looks like you're enjoying the first steps of dSLR photography.
With time, you'll appreciate it more and more, as well as mature in your subject, composition and exposure setting choices.

Here your first shots are reasonably good with room for improvement in each.
Read up on the rule of thirds with respect to #1 (central composition).
Read up on the exposure triad with respect to #2 (overexposed).
Read up on what makes an effective photograph for #3 (unclear/obscure subject matter).

Good start nevertheless.
04-10-2010, 10:42 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ash Quote
Looks like you're enjoying the first steps of dSLR photography.
With time, you'll appreciate it more and more, as well as mature in your subject, composition and exposure setting choices.

Here your first shots are reasonably good with room for improvement in each.
Read up on the rule of thirds with respect to #1 (central composition).
Read up on the exposure triad with respect to #2 (overexposed).
Read up on what makes an effective photograph for #3 (unclear/obscure subject matter).

Good start nevertheless.
Ash, thanks for the advice! As for the rule of thirds, I should have known better on that one.
I am enjoying it though. Lots to learn. I'm hoping to take an intro photography class pretty soon.
04-10-2010, 11:17 PM   #4
Veteran Member