Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 17 Likes Search this Thread
07-25-2013, 03:01 AM   #136
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The building itself looks good to me! You may have lost some detail in the edges that are up against the sky because that area is over exposed to get the exposure right for the lower portion. I am no expert but there seems to always be a loss of sharpness with these types of lenses and the distortion in the corners. Play around with the focus manually and see if you can get more things closer to you in focus and see if that helps the look you are after.

07-25-2013, 08:07 AM   #137
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by jaywes Quote
I want crisp/sharp images. I went about it to try and get the sweet spot- Iso 80, w/ tripod f8-f11, 2sec shutter release. Comments?
Definitely doesn't look as sharp as I'd expect. Part of that might be that you've lost some contrast since it's light from the 2 second long exposure. Did you try a shorter one, or using a ND filter if you want the motion of the people in it? Or just dropping it down a step or three in Lightroom, recovering highlights, etc?

Usually you don't want to use a polarizing filter with an ultrawide because it makes the sky looks weird, but for these with the buildings blotting out most of the sky, it might help you get some of the details on the sides back by cutting the glare a bit, maybe? I used one on a trip to Chicago last year and it seemed to help a bit with reflections off buildings and the like.
07-25-2013, 08:11 AM   #138
Pentaxian