Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8836 Likes Search this Thread
10-08-2019, 07:07 AM   #7441
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
It is complicated. Actually while Pentax 50/1.7 lenses are great at f5.6 it is the only aperture at which they are tad worse than my other vintage lens- Rikenon 50/2. At f4 and f8 they are clearly better (not by much of course).

Last edited by Piotrek K; 10-08-2019 at 08:59 AM.
10-08-2019, 08:06 AM - 1 Like   #7442
Pentaxian

M100/2.8. Silver Efex Pro "Antique plate" preset.

Lion's head par Kris Lockyear, on ipernity
10-08-2019, 02:50 PM   #7443
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by iheiramo Quote
That's why I used term, usually, in my sentence. I do like to use my M50/1.7 between f4 and f5.6 and even wide open, but according to same source it, indeed, is sharpest at f8.
I have no experience to comment behaviour of other series, but with M stopping down does make them sharper. Of course there are other values than sharpness in photography. Since getting K1ii I've shot quite a lot wide open with my M's, as with FF the results are sharp enough.
These tests are probably a weighted average of the center and corners, but the tester doesn't really say. So what are those lines? Corners only?
Also, they are quite old and were made on film. I still look at them from time to time but I wouldn't expect them to be the supreme authority on the sharpness of a lens, especially since I've seen other tests where the SMC-A 50 1.7 was sharpest overall at f5.6, not f8 like on that test.
10-08-2019, 10:52 PM   #7444
Unoriginal Poster
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ChristianRock Quote
Also, they are quite old and were made on film. I still look at them from time to time but I wouldn't expect them to be the supreme authority on the sharpness of a lens, especially since I've seen other tests where the SMC-A 50 1.7 was sharpest overall at f5.6, not f8 like on that test.