Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8193 Likes Search this Thread
01-26-2016, 07:40 AM   #586
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by boydbowlin Quote
Hi Guys ,
I have been using the DFA 150-450 paired with the K3II since Aug 2015 . My main passion is bird and general wildlife photography . I live in a small coastal town in Northern New South Wales Australia and travel into the outback of Australia a few times every year on photography trips . I have found the 150-450 an outstanding lens with solid build and after two trips to the desert last year with it there is not one spec of dust visible on any internal glass elements . I nearly always use a solid carbon tripod with a gimbal head but every now and then you quickly jump out of the car and grab some in flight raptor shots that spring up when travelling on the tracks . I have used the Pentax HD 1.4 rear converter with this lens and have had mixed results . Focus lock with the converter is generally no problem but good light is essential for detailed shots and in less than ideal light i do not use the converter and crop and i am usually very happy with the image providing i can keep the ISO reasonably low [1600 ISO and below ] I have been using TAV lately set to max 3200 ISO with good results and find the K3II files clean up quite nicely but you do get some loss of detail and smearing of that detail when trying to clean up the noise from shots taken up to 5200 ISO . The desert light is usually very good and the Camera and lens perform superbly . I use portable hides where possible to get close but often the shots are some distance away and i generally only crop for composition on the larger birds but crop quite heavily for the tiny outback scrub birds . I will show you some shots from my last trip . They are mixed Australian bird photos that i have processed using Lightroom CC 2015 . I had resized them to 1200 pixels and saved to JPEGS but upon uploading here they