Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 91913 Likes Search this Thread
02-14-2019, 06:39 AM   #30571
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Racer X 69 Quote
I don't do math either.

But I worked as a civil engineer, a mechanic and a machinist.

Go 'figure'.
talent will tell

how many people can do simple addition, subtraction, multiplication, division any more

it is all calculators

the ability to do long division ?

read and write cursive ?

02-14-2019, 06:52 AM   #30572
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by WPRESTO Quote
One SMU that is truly unique to the USA = the football field, as in "the sink hole was a big as half a football field!" As I've posted before, the failure to metricate the USA back in the 1970's or so was largely a consequence of the profound stupidity of first teaching children the English system, then teaching them how to convert to metric. Breathtakingly stupid approach. It's as if the people designing the curriculum had conspired to insure metrication would fail.

In the non-science major's basic biology (we called it "baby-bio") when teaching the metric system I'd sometimes challenge student's knowledge of the English system: . . .

How many inches in a rod?
. . .

How long is a furlong or a league (as in 20,00 under the sea or half a league, half a league, half a league onward)?

. . .

How is an acre defined? How many square feet, or square yards, or square miles is equivalent to an acre? . . . .
never can picture in my mind acres which can be any form

inches in a rod - I thought it was feet and don't forget the chain

furlong - don't forget horse racing Secretariat still holds the record I think

02-14-2019, 06:56 AM - 1 Like   #30573
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by aslyfox Quote
talent will tell

how many people can do simple addition, subtraction, multiplication, division any more

it is all calculators