Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 91813 Likes Search this Thread
12-19-2012, 08:56 PM   #5656
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Skymist Quote
Thanks. But you can see what I mean. It's a mistake to set your lens for F/9 for sharpest picture, then shoot at 1/320th here. You can see some of the water droplets in motion, and their shape implies that 1/1000 or faster is mandatory for this kind of shot. Which the K-5 could easily have handled by going to ISO 800. I learned a lot from this one error. Next time I get a chance for a shot like this, I'll be ready.
TaV mode is sometimes the way to go. Let the ISO float, and set your aperture and shutter speed for what you need.

12-20-2012, 12:15 AM   #5657

Skymist

I am not a pro, although I have some time behind an eyepiece (1st SLR was 1977). My first impression when looking at your photo is not the critical aspect you ascribe. I see an asymmetry that conveys 3 dimensional aspect to the shot and the droplets convey the motion of the scene.

Many times one sees a "perfect" shot that looks like someone cut and pasted exactly perfect parts onto a palatte in perfectly boring 2 dimensions. Maybe I ascribe a different value and quality to a photo, but perfect is boring and for pixel peeping. You made a wonderful capture that I would be proud of having made and to heck with the "mistakes". I photograph for what is conveyed to me and hopefully others viewing. To those that want to be perfectionists and nit-pick, I say go on to the next "perfect" photo and leave me in my ignorance in my happy little non-perfect place.

JB
12-20-2012, 09:15 AM   #5658
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Take-5-JB Quote