Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2017, 04:32 AM   #25591
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by stihlmania Quote
This is my first real attempt to get hummingbirds flying, I have hundreds of them sitting. Using my 1st D with a smc A* 400 f2.8 edif , shooting with and without a AF-360FGZ flash since my feeder is in the shade. So far so good, the flash helps with some, as my feeders are in the shade. I also have 1 shot with my 1st DL, just noticed that, sorry.
Nice shooting

I plan to try shooting hummingbirds this summer. Can you place items near the feeder? I am thinking of using flash with a remote trigger to get the flash closer to the birds - setting exposure to underexpose the background and use flash to fill in the bird? I have no experience with hummingbirds and wonder how positioning a flash near to the feeding station will work - will they still show up?

05-11-2017, 07:31 AM   #25592
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by RockvilleBob Quote
All very nice but I really like the first shot of the shoes and the fish
My sentiments exactly

---------- Post added 2017-05-11 at 08:34 ----------

Nice shooting

I plan to try shooting hummingbirds this summer. Can you place items near the feeder? I am thinking of using flash with a remote trigger to get the flash closer to the birds - setting exposure to underexpose the background and use flash to fill in the bird? I have no experience with hummingbirds and wonder how positioning a flash near to the feeding station will work - will they still show up?
I had an SF-1 on tripod with on camera flash about 2 m/6 ft from the feeder when I was testing Snap In Focus (the first name from Pentax for what we now call Catch In Focus) and it didn't bother them at all. People bother them, briefly, while they are staring, but any sort of inanimate object doesn't seem to bother our rufous friends here.