Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Aslyfox Quote

---------- Post added 09-09-17 at 06:21 ----------

admittedly I am no expert

I only know what I like and I like my DFA 150 - 450

does it have faults, so some say

is it big and heavy - that I can cofirm

I, like others, seem to be able to use it hand held, others say only on a tripod

my suggestion, check out what it can do, look at the thread dedicated to it here on the forum

rent one and try it out.

I did, using LensRental.com

then I went looking for a bargain

I found one getting a like new " experienced " model

good luck

here is a juvenile yellow crowned night heron hunting - slight crop and pp isolating the bird
The 50-500 is called the Bigma for a good reason. It is heavy. It has its faults but it has been a good lens to me. The major downside is you really need to stop down to around f10-f11 to get decent IQ. The 150-450 has a focus limiter which would be really handy. The two lenses weigh about the same. I have found Sigma lenses just lack the contrast of Pentax lenses but that is just me. I'm old school Pentax shooter. Maybe someday I will rent thec150-450, I never rented a lens before. Right now I'm fine with my 50-500.

09-09-2017, 09:17 AM - 12 Likes   #26462
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
A few shots (mostly re-posts) taken on Sanibel Island, Florida over the last couple of years. I'm not sure whether there will be much left of the place after Irma and Jose have moved through. Other, less prosperous places will fare even worse but this is somewhere we know. It will take a long time for the place to recover and I feel sorry for the folks who make their livelihood there.

09-09-2017, 10:09 AM   #26463
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Nice series Jacamar. Up here in the Rockies we feel your pain over the hurricanes. Our pain is the forest fires that are devastating the whole North West of the continent ....