Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11974 Likes Search this Thread
07-11-2013, 07:40 PM - 1 Like   #5296

QuoteOriginally posted by todd Quote
I debated this like crazy too, but in the end I wanted the all around versatility of the 31. I saw the across the frame sharpness of the Sigma was lacking in comparison, and for me it has a sometimes distracting slight barrel distortion, and those odd triangular highlights sometimes aren't something I'd want... With the 31 there is of course its special rendering where to my eye the Sigma looks a bit flat in comparison. That said I agree there are many who make the Sigma sing and as an amateur I really could have been happy with it, if I hadn't become able to get the 31. Maybe you want to try the Sigma first and then decide... For me I had to buy the 31 while I had the money.. If I had gone with the Sigma first it might have been years before I could upgrade to the 31. Also a factor in that decision for me was I came into my 31 money right after that sale was here for the Sigma in March or whenever that was. If I had been able to get the Sigma new for $289 like a bunch here did, then I would have tried it first. But when I was shopping for the 31, the Sigma was only to be found in the $400 range, which is just too much imo.

Forget the debate. Just go look at all of Loco's photos on flickr and then hurry and go find a wobble free used 31 and be done with it. You won't regret it.

Hehe, Loco's photo's are making me want to get one!

If I could find the Sigma for $300 for new i'd probably snatch it up fast. Now it's out of stock from what i can tell and pretty hefty price. I'd say the resale on the 31mm is timeless especially if a FF Pentax shows up.

QuoteQuote: