Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2011, 01:25 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Which External Flash Should I get

Hello.

I need some advice on which external flash I should be looking at.

First, a little bit about what I shoot: I really purchased my k10d because I was tired of paying studios every month to shoot my 3 young children. I have since bought studio lighting that I am still learning with. However, I need an external flash I can take with me for birthday parties, family gathering and other imprompto photos that need light. My pop up flash seems to wash everything out and I just don't like the way the photo's look.

I have looked on the Pentax website and only see 2 that are available. However, I know there must be an off brand out there or maybe the Pentax external flashes really are the best, I have no idea.

Obviously I am learning as I go but want to pay for good equiptment. I have learned the hard way by buying a "cheaper" version and had to go back out and the buy the original one I wanted. I mostly shoot with my 77 f1.8. I really want the 31 ltd lens, but that's a whole other story :-)

I don't want to say price is not an issue, but I want a good flash that has directional lighting, adjustable power. If the best external flash is $100, great....but if the best flash out there is $500.00 fine too....I just want the best for the best price, like everyone else :-)

Please help, I am new to this but want to be better and someday hopefully want to take pictures of other children.

Dynnel

Last edited by dynnel; 05-02-2011 at 03:03 PM.
05-02-2011, 02:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Hi dynnel...

Are you wanting this flash for 'on' the hot shoe or 'off-camera' or both?

Metz flashes get really good write ups... Full P-Ttl metering when in the hotshoe etc... You should be able to do both:-)

Check out this websites 'Accessory database' for a few ideas and to check reviews

All the best
Dave