Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-03-2011, 06:23 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Recommendation for Umbrella Kit please

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I need two or three different 33" (or so) umbrellas: white with white back, silver with black back (and gold with black back?). Also need an umbrella holder and a couple light stands.

Since I'm a beginner, I'd like to keep this as affordable as possible, without buying absolute junk either.

I am going to make my own softbox and beauty dish.

Thanks!

05-03-2011, 06:40 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I don't use reflective umbrellas - almost exclusively shoot-through - but I picked up a pair of ~30+" white shoot-thru's from Amazon for $10 (for the pair). Cowboy studio. I've got some big Wescotts, but I'm putting together a "location kit". I also picked up the Cowboy Studio umbrella holders that also has a shoe clamp on it, and matched 'em with some Bogen (Manfrotto) lightstands I still have laying around. With a pair of vivitar 283s and a radio trigger, the system works very well, and was *very* inexpensive. Brackets were ~12 each, the umbrellas ~$5 each.
05-04-2011, 04:41 AM   #3
Pentaxian

The Amazon price seems quite fair. I have an umbrella being shipped from dealExtreme, all of 4,60$, apparently just as good (probably identical) to Wescott.
05-04-2011, 08:56 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Here is the kit I put together last year for flash based umbrellas.

2X - 43" Umbrella Softbox $40 on ebay This provides the same diffused light as a shoot through umbrella with less light loss. These are fairly flimsy but work well indoors.

2X - 7.5' Light Stands $43 on ebay Very sturdy but I've only used them indoors