Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2011, 08:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Questions about Halogen vs other light sources..

So this is more of a "continuous" lighting question. Not sure if it falls in this section since this is more of the strobe/flash section.

Does anyone have experience with Halogen lighting? I currently have a Fluorescent lighting kit (junky- a Amazon $150 special) but it just doesnt produce the light needed. (go figure) I have been looking around at upgrading my system (from 1 Fluorescent to 5-9 system) and was almost sold on getting one of the 5 bulb systems, until I came across this

Photography - Video VL-1000 Triple Softbox Halogen Kit W/Boom

Now this system is nothing AMAZING. I still wouldnt call it "Professional" grade, but as im not a professional grade photographer, and its only $400 compared to over $1000 like most. I think im pretty impressed.

I was just hoping some of you experts could shine some light (pun intended) on this for me. I have read a bunch of reviews on Fluo lights vs Halo's but all I hear is "Halo's are much hotter".. well what does that mean? will this heat up a room hot? make a model sweat hot? or just hot to the touch? I know Halogens are known to be hot bulbs, but not sure if having 3 would be enough to notice a change in temp in the room.

Also, I will be using this indoors, mostly for video shooting (reviews and such) but also will be taking portraits of friends and family, Will this be pretty friendly for each?

Overall, would you suggest going the Halogen route, or stick with Fluorescents?

if not this kit, what do you suggest? (Less than $450, 2 softbox and a boom system preferred)

07-02-2011, 11:11 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by SlickYamaha Quote
So this is more of a "continuous" lighting question. Not sure if it falls in this section since this is more of the strobe/flash section.